The official currency in Canada is the Canadian dollar (CAD), which is divided into 100 cents. Notes come in $5, $10, $20, $50, and $100 denominations. Coins come in 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, $1 (loonie) and $2 (toonie) denominations. For information about currency and exchange:
Exchange facilities are available at the Québec International Airport as well as at the hotels. Foreign currency and travellers cheques can be exchanged at most banks. Automated teller machines (ATMs) are also available throughout the city. Most ATMs accept banking cards from outside Canada.
The tax on goods and services (GST) is 5% and applies to most goods and services in Canada. The provincial sales tax (PST) is 9.5% and is charged to the federal tax and also applies to most goods and services purchased in Québec. Special taxes on food and liquor in restaurants, and a room tax on visitor accommodation also apply.
A tax is payable on every lodging unit rented within the Québec tourist region. The tax is 3% per night if the visitor pays for lodging himself on site but $3.00 per night if the payment is made through a travel agency.
Rebates on the GST may apply – for more information:





Leave a Reply